RL >

shoot_the_moon

I don’t often talk about RL here – this is a space I reserve for amusement, hobbies and to keep my writing skills functional. I have plenty of stress in my real life and games generally speaking are where I go to escape that.

But this week, I’ve been writing about something other than EVE, something more important. My grandfather passed away this week, having lived a full and happy life, at age 92. I was very fortunate to share more than 40 of those years with him. I took a day off work to write his eulogy, and then read it at the service this morning.

He was a decorated veteran, an optimist, a man with a great sense of humor and someone who knew how to min-max a card game like no one else I’ve ever seen (bonus points for those of you who get the reference from the picture above). My love of games in general goes back to playing with him and others in that side of my family. He was a listener first and a talker second, more likely to answer a question with a question than an answer. He worked hard, played hard, and gave a lot back to his family – most often in opportunities for experiences.

As I got ready for the funeral this morning, I saw the announcements of layoffs at CCP blip past on Twitter, and thought of the many concerns and fears that come from that event (I’ve had that experience, and it’s not fun), the scrambling to make ends meet. I thought of the lives and families of those employees, and the stress they must be under. I wish them the best in the coming months. It is times like this that they will need to lean on their friends and family.

This is a rambling way of reminding you: RL > EVE … or any other pastime, really. Make sure that a job or a hobby serves its purpose, but don’t lose sight of the main event. Make sure you take the time to go make memories in the real world as well – “make hay while the sun shines,” as my grandpa might say. In time, most things pass, but your family and closest friends are what matters in the end.

This entry was posted in Non-Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to RL >

  1. Jeff Kione says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your grandfather, sounds like he was a great man. Excellent reminder of the important things.

  2. Gregers Holwin says:

    My condolences.
    I belive the cards are the point cards of the game MS calls “Hearts”

    • Rhavas says:

      Correct you are – and specifically it’s the highest risk/reward hand in the game, called “shooting the moon”. :) Grandpa did it often.

  3. evehermit says:

    Sounds like your grandfather made the most of his long life. Good for him and the example he set.

  4. Anonymous says:

    My condolences from France. Your post is full of meanings and shiny of the truth. RL should never be put aside, even by EVE.

  5. Jezaja says:

    Condolences from me.
    Go and fly to “New Eden” and enlighten a Cyno for him! Many people do this, and it’s a wonderful moment to see the cyno-vigil floating in the space.

Leave a Reply

